Terms of Reference

I. Introduction

The Sectoral Committee on Macroeconomy and Development Administration is one the committees of the Regional Development Counicl. It is mandated to coordinate and promote the development of the CALABARZON region in the area related to macro-economy and governance, Specifically, its area of concerns include development administration, peace, order and safety, law enforcement and administration of justice, disaster management, productivity and employment, development planning and programming, fiscal administration, statistical and database management, capacity building, communication development, and other concerns that cut across various sectors.

II. Functions

The SCMDA has the following functions:

a. Provides policy directions/agenda related to macro-economy and development administration or governance.

b. Provides input in the formulation/updating the macro/development administration framework for integration in the regional development plan.

c. Assesses and monitors the performance of the Macro/DevAd Sector.

d. Recommends to relevant agencies through the RDC, policies and measures as may be required to effectively achieve the objectives enunciated in the national and regional development plans

e. Evaluates/reviews plans, programs, projects and policies related to Macro/DevAd Sector.

f. Provides direction/monitor performance the Special and Sub-Committees and Special Bodies related to the sector.

g. Advocates/promotes good governance policies, programs and projects and ensures complementation of the different initiatives in the region.

h. Provides direction to enhance the capability of the regional and local government units planners as initiated by the RDC.

i. Serves as an Oversight Committee of the RDC.

j. Performs other related functions as may be assigned by the RDC.


The Committee is composed of the following:

a. Bangko Sentral Ng. Pilipinas
b. Bureau of Internal Revenue
c. Civil Service Commission
d. Commission on Audit
d Commission on Human Rights
e. Department of Budget and Management
f. Department of Finance-Bureau of Local Government Finance
g. Department Interior and Local Government
h. Department of Labor and Employment
i. Department of Trade and Industry
j. Department of Justice-Regional Public Attorney’s Office
k. National Economic and Development Authority
l. Office of Civil Defense
m Presidential Management Staff
n. Philippine Information Agency
o. Philippine National Police
p. Philippine Statistical Office
r. Provincial Planning and Development Coordinators (5)
s. Private Sector Representatives

IV. Officers and Election

The officers of the Committee are the Chairman, Co-Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Secretary. At least one of the official Chairmen shall come from the private sector. The NEDA as Secretariat of the RDC shall be designated as Vice-Chairman.

The selection of Chairman and Co-Chairman shall be done in a manner that has to be decided and agreed upon by all members of the Committees.

V. Term of Office

The term of office of the Chairman and Co-Chairman shall be co-terminus with the term of the RDC Chairman without prejudice for reelection.

VI. Meetings and Quorum

The Committee shall hold regular meetings at least once every quarter the schedule of which shall be decided by the body. Meetings shall be scheduled every Thursday of first week of the last month of the quarter.

The presence in a meeting of fifty percent plus one of the total members shall constitute a quorum. In the absence of a quorum, the Committee members present may discuss the items in the agenda and make a recommendation thereon to the Council in the next meeting.

VII. Decision of the Committee

The decision of the Committee shall only be recommendatory in nature and shall be in the form of resolution addressed to the Council.

VIII. Other Standard Operating Procedures

a. Communications – communications such as notice of meeting, minutes of meetings, among others, shall be sent through official e-mail address (rdc.calabarzon@gmail.com). If necessary, a follow-up text message will be sent by the Secretariat through the official mobile number (049-576-0157).

b. Notice of meeting shall be sent to members at least two weeks before the meeting. Members are expected to confirm their attendance through e-mail/fax using the confirmation slip or thru text message.

c. Minutes of previous meetings and matters arising from the minutes of the previous meeting shall be sent to members at least one week before the actual conduct of the meeting. The members should submit their comments at least 3 days before the meeting. On the matters arising from the minutes of the previous meeting, members are requested to keep track of their concerns and are expected to submit to the Secretariat the status/update prior to the meeting. If update is not submitted to the Secretariat before the meeting, the members are expected to give update during the meeting.

d. Attendance of principal members is required in all Committee meetings. In the event that the principal could not personally attend, he/she may designate an alternate representative in writing addressed to the Chairman through the Committee Secretary. In case of change in agency representative it shall be the responsibility of the agency to orient the new representative on previous discussions.

e. Monitoring of Attendance – If a member from the RLA has been observed to be habitually absent in the Committee meetings, the Chairman will report the matter up to the concerned agency head for appropriate action. For PSRs, habitual absenteeism may lead to termination of membership to the Committee. It must be emphasized that the PSRs cannot be represented.