RDC and RPOC members including distinguished guests in the CALABARZON Peace and Development Summit sign pledge of commitment to the newly created Regional Task Force on Whole-of-Nation Approach in Attaining Inclusive and Sustainable Peace and Development. (L-R) Dir. Luis Banua, NEDA Region IV-A; MGen. Rhoderick M. Parayno, JTFK; Usec. Allen Capuyan, NTF Secretariat; MGen. Gilbert I. Gapay, SOLCOM, AFP; Gov. Hermilando I. Mandanas, RDC Chairperson; Gov. Jesus Crispin C. Remulla, RPOC Chairperson; Sec. Jose Maria Nicomedes F. Hernandez, OPAST; Deputy Director General Damian Carlos, National Security Council; and PDir. Ericson T. Velasquez, DIPO-SL.

The CALABARZON Regional Development Council (RDC) and Regional Peace and Order Council (RPOC) signed the joint resolution creating the Regional Task Force on Whole-of-Nation Approach in attaining inclusive and sustainable peace and development during the CALABARZON’s First Peace and Development Summit held on February 26 at the RDC Conference Room, NEDA Region IV-A, Barangay Milagrosa, Calamba City, Laguna.

The Summit was dovetailed with the joint CALABARZON RDC and RPOC meeting. The Regional Task Force was created in support to Executive Order No. 70, “Institutionalizing the Whole-of-Nation Approach in attaining inclusive and sustainable peace, creating a National Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict, and Directing the adoption of a National Peace Framework” which prioritizes and harmonizes the government’s delivery of basic services and social development assistance.

The EO envisions to facilitate societal inclusivity and ensure active participation of all sectors of society in pursuit of the peace agenda.

The Resolution was signed by Governor Hermilando I. Mandanas, RDC Chairperson and Governor Jesus Crispin C. Remulla, RPOC Chairperson. All RDC and RPOC members and other stakeholders also pledged their commitment to the Regional Task Force by signing on the commitment wall.

Secretary Jose Maria Nicomedes F. Hernandez of the Office of the Presidential Adviser for Southern Tagalog who was named as chairperson of the Regional Task Force. During his speech, he said that the goal of a progressive, drug-free and insurgency-free community is not impossible with the convergence of the national and local government agencies.

The Peace Summit was also attended by Undersecretary Allen Capuyan of the National Task Force Secretariat, Deputy Director General Damian Carlos of the National Security Council, Asssistant Secretary Anton Hernandez of the Department of Social Welfare and Development, and Major General Gilbert Gapay, Commander of the Southern Luzon Command, AFP.

Marlon T. Natividad, NEDA Region IV-A | March 1, 2019