The RDC during its Full Council meeting on September 9, enjoined the full support and participation of local government units (LGUs) and government agencies such as the DILG, DSWD, BFAR, DTI in the implementation of Expanded National Integrated Protected Areas System (E-NIPAS) Law in the Taal Volcano Protected Landscape (TVPL).

The DENR Region IV-A during the Sectoral Committee on Economic Development 3rd quarter meeting on August 13, requested the RDC to enjoin the support of LGUs and national government agencies in the implementation of PAMB Resolutions, PHIVOLCS recommendations and other policies in the TVPL area.

The devastating effects to the local economies of Batangas and Cavite provinces caused by the eruption of Taal Volcano highlighted the need for concerted efforts of LGUs and national government agencies in the implementation of policies, programs and projects in the rehabilitation and recovery of the TVPL area. The Protected Area Management Board (PAMB), which manages the TVPL is under the administrative and policy oversight of DENR. PAMB has issued policies to LGUs in implementing measures in case of fortuitous events and public emergencies, and supporting the provinces’ contingency plans on Taal Volcano eruption.

Aside from volcanic hazard, other issues in the area are the illegal fishing and in-lake structures, occupancy, lot leveling and/or quarrying activities, and structures within 40-meter easement.

The RDC’s endorsement of support is expected to strengthen and facilitate the rehabilitation and recovery efforts in the TVPL area.

Carmela L. Lantican, NEDA Region IV-A | September 10, 2021