I. Introduction

The Sectoral Committee on Economic Development (SCED) is one of the major committees of the Regional Development Council (RDC). It is mandated to coordinate and promote the development of the Calabarzon Region in the following areas:

  1. agriculture and fisheries
  2. agrarian reform
  3. trade and industry
  4. tourism
  5. environment and natural resources
  6. science and technology

II. Functions

The SCED has the following functions:

  1. recommends to the RDC policies, programs and projects on economic development consistent with national and regional development objectives and priorities
  2. harmonizes the sectoral plans and programs of LGUs within the regional sectoral plans and programs, and coordinates all sectoral planning and programming activities of sectoral line agencies in the region
  3. assesses and monitors the performance of the economic sector in the region
  4. recommends to relevant agencies through the RDC, policies and measures as may be required to effectively achieve the objectives enunciated in the national and regional development plans
  5. evaluates/reviews plans, programs, projects and policies related to the economic sector
  6. provides direction and monitor performance of special and sub-committees and special bodies related to the sector
  7. performs other related functions as may be assigned by the RDC

III. Composition (as of December 17, 2019)

The Committee is composed of the following:

  1. Bureau of Fisheries & Aquatic Resources (BFAR) Region IV-A
  2. Cooperative Development Authority (CDA) Region IV
  3. Department of Agriculture (DA) Region IV-A
  4. Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR) Region IV-A
  5. Development Bank of the Philippines (DBP) Southern Tagalog
  6. Department of Education (DepEd) Region IV-A
  7. Department Environment & Natural Resources (DENR) Region IV-A
  8. Department of Environment & Natural Resources-Environmental Management Bureau (DENR-EMB) Region IV-A
  9. Department of Environment & Natural Resources-Mines and Geosciences Bureau (DENR-MGB) Region IV-A
  10. Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Region IV-A
  11. Department of Labor & Employment (DOLE) Region IV-A
  12. Department of Science & Technology (DOST) Region IV-A
  13. Department of Tourism (DOT) Region IV-A
  14. Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Region IV-A
  15. Department of Trade & Industry (DTI) Region IV-A
  16. Landbank of the Philippines (LBP) South Luzon Lending Group
  17. Laguna Lake Development Authority (LLDA)
  18. National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) Region IV-A
  19. National Food Authority (NFA) Region IV-A
  20. National Irrigation Administration (NIA) Region IV-A
  21. Philippine Coconut Authority (PCA) Region IV-A
  22. Philippine Economic Zone Authority (PEZA)
  23. Philippine Fiber Industry Development Authority (PhilFIDA) Region IV
  24. Technical Education & Skills Development Authority (TESDA) Region IV-A
  25. PSR Richard Albert I. Osmond–Philippine Industrial Estate Assoc., Inc.
  26. PSR Bon Ian D. Dela Roca – Sorosoro Ibaba Development Cooperative
  27. PSR Iluminada Gomez – Seven Squares Advocacy Cooperative
  28. PSR Rodrigo Camia – Cavite Metro Multipurpose Cooperative
  29. Cabuyao City
  30. Calamba City
  31. General Trias City
  32. San Pedro City
  33. Santa Rosa City

One-fourth of the Committee membership shall come from the Private Sector Representatives (PSRs) which are involved in the following sectors – Tourism, Environment, Industry, and Agriculture.

IV. Officers

The officers of the Committee are the Chairperson, Co-Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, and Secretary. At least one of the official Chairpersons shall come from the private sector. The NEDA as Secretariat of the RDC shall be designated as Vice-Chairperson.                                          

The selection of Chairperson and Co-Chairperson shall be done in a manner that has to be decided and agreed upon by all members of the Committees.

V. Term of Office

The Chairperson and Co-Chairperson shall be co-terminus with the term of the RDC Chair without prejudice for re-election.

VI. Meetings and Quorum

The Committee shall hold regular meetings at least once every quarter. Meetings shall be scheduled every Wednesday of second week of the 2nd month of the quarter.

The presence in a meeting of 50 percent plus one of the total members shall constitute a quorum. In the absence of a quorum, the Committee members present may discuss the items in the agenda and make a recommendation thereon to the Council in the next meeting.

VII. Decision of the Committee

The decision of the Committee shall only be recommendatory in nature and shall be in the form of resolution addressed to the Council.

VIII. Other Standard Operating Procedures

  1. Communications – communications such as notice of meeting, minutes of meetings, among others, shall be sent through official email address    (neda4ainvestment3@gmail.com).
  2. Notice of meetings shall be sent to members at least two weeks before the meeting. Members are expected to confirm their attendance through email/fax using the confirmation slip or through text message
  3. Highlights of the previous meetings and matters arising from the minutes of the previous meeting shall be sent to members at least one week before the actual conduct of the meeting. Members should submit their comments at least 3 days before the meeting. On the matters arising from the minutes of the previous meeting, members are requested to keep track of their concerns and are expected to submit to the Secretariat the status/update prior to the meeting. If update is not submitted to the Secretariat before the meeting, the members are expected to give update during the meeting.
  4. Attendance of principal members is required in all Committee meetings. In the event that the principal could not personally attend, he/she may        designate an alternate representative in writing addressed to the Chair      through the Committee Secretary. In case of change in agency representative it shall be the responsibility of the agency to orient the new representative on previous discussions.
  5. Monitoring of attendance – If a member from the RLA has been observed to be habitually absent in the Committee meetings, the Chair will report the   matter up to the concerned agency head for appropriate action. For PSRs,   habitual absenteeism may lead to termination of membership to the   It must be emphasized that the PSRs cannot be represented.